The Users page allows you to manage Vault Professional users for all repositories and projects within a Vault Professional server. This page also lists the number of full/web-only user licenses, and the number of active full and web-only users.
In order to preserve historical information, you cannot delete users from Vault Professional. However, you can make any user inactive. Inactive users do not take up an available license.
The Users Table contains a list of all users. The list can be sorted by clicking column headings. Lists can be sorted by Login, Name, Default Rights or Status. Clicking on the column heading again will reverse the column sort. The default sort is alphabetically on the User column.
The columns in this list are:
The Add button allows you to add users. When clicked, the Add User page will appear.
You can only add as many active users as you have licenses. Check the Server Settings ->Licenses page to see how many licenses you have available. You will get an error message if you attempt to add or activate more users than you have available licenses.
The properties of a specific user can be altered by clicking on the selected user’s name under the login column. When clicked, the Edit User page will appear, describing the User Details for the selected user.
From this page, all aspects of the user’s information can be updated, including the user’s password, default rights and assigned groups. Also, the user can be made active or inactive.
This page also lists the number of available full user and web-only user licenses.
The Admin User cannot be deleted.
Clicking on the Overview link listed in the Access Rights column will display a page summarizing the repository, project access and folder rights of the selected user. Please see Security ->Security Rights for more information.
Copy Rights allows you to copy the rights created for one user to those of another by making the Copy Rights Assignments page available.
You have an option to view only users in a selected group. In this drop-down menu, select the group whose users you want to see.
This option determines whether the user list contains all users, or only users that are currently marked as active.
The external-user is a built-in account used to allow Work Item submissions from non-Vault Pro users. If the Vault Pro Admin enables Allow External Submissions for a Work Item tracking project, users that do not have login access to the Vault Pro system can add work items via the External Add page.
The external-user account is not a true login and does not take up a Vault Pro license. By default, the external-user is inactive, and cannot login to Vault Pro. The username for external-user can be changed from the User Details page.
When a user adds a work item via the External Ad page, the reporter is shown as "external-user." Unlicensed users may submit work items via the external add page, but will not be able to view or update their work items in Vault Pro. The external-user was created as a way for customers or non-development staff to add work items to Vault Pro without needing a Vault Pro login or license.